Friday I’m in Love | Mac Media

Mac Media | Without flash

Mac Media | Without flash

It’s another beauty favourite this Friday, because this week I’ve been loving Mac Media: definitely my most bold beauty purchase for a while!
I’d been wanting a vampy lipstick for a while, but had been umm-ing and ahh-ing over whether or not I could pull a darker shade off. After looking at a few blog posts on vampy lips I decided Mac’s Media was the shade for me, and to just go for it. It’s a beautiful classic red wine shade, which is exactly what I wanted.
One hurried trip to the Mac counter in Selfridges later and ‘Media’ was mine. I bought it just before going out for dinner in London with my boyfriend, so I actually applied it for the first time in the Selfridges toilets…Classy, right? This was perhaps not the best move as it’s such a bold, dark shade. I’d actually recommend taking some time over applying it, but I just couldn’t wait!
Mac Media | With flash

Mac Media | With flash

I think this type of shade does perhaps fall into the ‘man-repeller’ category of beauty products, but when I met my boyfriend for dinner he actually said he really liked it.
We had a lovely meal at Honest Burgers in Soho (I cant recommend a visit there highly enough), and as I’d feared the lipstick did end up all over my burger! It’s one of Mac’s satin finish lipsticks (in-between shiny and matte) so it doesn’t have the strongest staying power. I did have to re-apply a few times, but this didn’t bother me too much.
We then headed over to Pix, a cute tapas restaurant around the corner for a spot of dessert and another drink, where the waitress said she loved my lipstick and it really suited me (yay).

 

IMG_0443

Mac Media | A14

All in all, I’ve loved wearing this shade this week and if you’re longing after a more vampy shade than the standard red, I recommend you take the leap and try this. Wearing a bolder shade was liberating! Buy it for £15 here.
Which of the Mac lipsticks is your favourite?
Will you be trying this bold colour?
Ciao, Bella.
Leave a Reply

